What plant is your plant-based jerky made from?

Our plant-based jerky is made from defatted soybean flour. Soybeans have been used for centuries in foods such as tofu and tempeh due to their unique meaty texture. Soy is a complete protein which means it contains all of the essential amino acids necessary for human nutrition.

Are soybeans good for me?

Soybeans are a nutritional powerhouse for two big reasons: soy is considered a complete protein which means it has all the amino acids your body needs. It's also a great source of dietary fiber, something you can't find in traditional beef jerky. Soybeans contain both soluble and insoluble fiber, the latter of which is associated with decreased cardiovascular risk. Soy is also common in Asian cuisine and has been an integrative health food for centuries. Soy is also a good source of essential minerals including magnesium, potassium, phosphorus, and iron.

Nevertheless, there are a lot of myths out there about soy. Our fellow plant-based meat pioneers over at Impossible Foods have done a great job explaining them, so if you're curious we recommend reading this. 

Is your plant-based jerky gluten free?

Kojo plant-based jerky is gluten-free. It is produced in a shared use facility. 

Where can I find your jerky in-store?

Keep an eye on our Instagram and Facebook pages for upcoming store release information.

Close (esc)

Join us

Sign up for exclusive deals and updates.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.


Main menu

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now